Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Two pieces of glass from Sudeley Castle, Gloucestershire, two crowns, distorted circles, one broken into two pieces
top left corner
top right corner
bottom left corner
bottom right corner
image X255

Two pieces of glass from Sudeley Castle, Gloucestershire, two crowns, distorted circles, one broken into two pieces


Height: 80mm
Width: 70mm

Museum number: X255

Curatorial note

These two pieces of glass from Sudeley Castle are in a package labelled, in Soane's hand, Sudely [sic] Castle / Thursday 22 Aug 1816/ Glass taken out of / a window in the room / adjoining the Banqueting Room. The wrapping is a printed notice of a Meeting of the General Committee of the United Grand Lodge of Freemasons to be held on 28th Augt. 1816 & a Quarterly Communication to be held on 4th September.

Soane’s Note Book (his diary) confirms that he visited Sudeley Castle on 22 August 1816 and staid there all day, ret:g at ½ past 7 to Chelt[enham] where he was lodging at the Stiles Hotel. It would appear that the sole purpose of his journey was to visit the Castle as he arrived in Cheltenham by coach from London at 9pm on the 21st, spent the 22nd at Sudeley and left at 11am on the 23rd to return to London, breaking his journey at Oxford for the night. Sudeley Castle was purchased in 1810 by Richard Grenville, the future 1st Duke of Buckingham and Chandos (1776-1839). Soane had known the family well for many years, re-modelling Buckingham House, Pall Mall for the 1st Marquess of Buckingham (the Duke’s father) in the 1790s and later building a Gothic Library at Stowe for him in 1805-07. In 1815 Soane was called in by the Duke to make surveys of Sudeley and propose alterations (not carried out). In August 1819 he visited Sudeley again to make notes and in March 1820 submitted plans of the existing building with proposals for alterations – again these were not commissioned, perhaps because he was asked instead to rebuild another of the Duke’s properties, Wotton House in Buckinghamshire, which burnt down in October 1820.


Catalogue of the Stained Glass in Sir John Soane's Museum, Special Issue of the Journal of Stained Glass 2004, p.286

Exhibition history

Death and Memory: Soane and the Architecture of Legacy, Sir John Soane's Museum, London, 23 October 2015 - 2 April 2016

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: worksofart@soane.org.uk