Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Drawings

Browse

Design drawings, 1822-26 (13)

Drawings Note:-
The earliest surviving drawing relating to this court (SM 71/2/62v) is dated 19 October 1822. This positions it clearly within the concentrated activity for preparing designs for this and adjacent areas of the Law Courts through October - November 1822. The Day Book entries record these drawings were undertaken by George Bailey, Charles Papendiek and Arthur Mee, frequently assisted by David Mocatta. Regrettably, specific references to drawings for this court are very intermittent. However, the solution proposed in SM 71/2/62v, is reflected in a more worked up state in a drawing produced later that month (SM 53/4/81), immediately prior to the start of construction on the site. It was to prove a valuable template by which building the core walls of the Law Courts could advance, while the surface treatment of the interiors was finalised. Soane’s solution was in essence to extract from the overall plan the near-square area allocated for the Court of Chancery and to divide the walls by two tiers of arches. Given their relative position within the wider complex, and such practicalities as entrances from adjacent spaces and proximity to light wells, these arches could either be open, or simply left blank and recessed. This solution provided a visual consistency for the interior Court of Chancery, upon which the internal finishes could be grafted.

That Soane closely oversaw such details is evinced by SM 69/7/1/v/a and SM 69/53/4/80v, where initial decorative treatments for the upper levels are recorded. The same holds true for the design of the canopy over the Judges’ Tribunal (SM 53/2/61 - 63). Designed in October 1823 when the structure was nearing completion the drawings, executed by Charles Papendiek, demonstrate through their annotations and revisions Soane’s guiding influence.

Following the initial drawings in late 1822, refining ideas for the interior disposition of this Court was only recommenced in April the following year. This flurry of activity may have been in part the result of a meeting on site held on 15 March 1823. The Day Book entries record that the same four draughtsmen returned to work on this project. Activity resumed in the second half the of following May when (largely unspecified) Day Book entries for the Law Courts were delegated to Edward Foxhall and Stephen Burchell; the latter having become Soane’s pupil in January 1823.

The first demonstration of Soane’s ideas for the Court’s interior are recorded on SM 53/4/80. Dated 8 April 1823, the two tiers of the interior are divided by an oval gallery with an ironwork balustrade. Above this, the main light source for the interior takes the form of a cubic lantern light, apparently hanging weightless over the space below on a series of canopy arches. Its inner faces are screened by fluted screens pierced with oculi; a remarkable aesthetic conceit. This extraordinary proposal not only responded to the enclosed position of the Court of Chancery within the site as a whole, but enhanced the means of providing natural light through such ornamentation, thereby giving the unbroken volume of the interior a unifying visual focus. The design for the upper level was slightly revised on 13 May (SM 53/2/65) though the aesthetic idiom and selective recourse to salient forms remains consistent with the original idea. It also pulls Chancery’s interior into visual synergy with the Vice Chancellor’s Court, suggesting a deliberate wish to endow these spaces with an integrated aesthetic, thereby demonstrating their judicial relationship. The ideas trailed and rejected in the latter were fruitfully returned to in order to emphasis the Court of Chancery’s superiority.
Previous  1 2  Next
Architectural & Other Drawings results view
Select list view result
Select thumbnail view result
Previous  1 2  Next
Architectural & Other Drawings results view
Select list view result
Select thumbnail view result