Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Drawings

Survey drawing of existing house, 1785

Soane visited Chillington on 6 September 1785 and two days later John Sanders was sent to measure the house, returning on 15 September (Journal No1, p.48 and Ledger A, p.76). Presumably, Sanders then made this drawing which has been pricked through for copying. The plan is unfinished so that the southern corner of the smaller of the courtyards is not fully drawn out. The chapel and gatehouse have pencil cancellations over them as does the north-western part of the smaller offices courtyard. The three tones of grey wash may indicate an initial proposal as to retention and demolition so that the more recently constructed part (the 8-bay rectangular block in the centre of the south side rebuilt by Francis Smith of Warwick in 1724) is outlined in a deep black and was kept. The eastern courtyard is washed in an intermediate grey tone and was largely demolished, the western courtyard is outlined in pale grey was and was mostly kept.
Previous  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 > >>  Next
Architectural & Other Drawings results view
Select list view result
Select thumbnail view result
Previous  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 > >>  Next
Architectural & Other Drawings results view
Select list view result
Select thumbnail view result