Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Minutes of proceedings relative to the establishment of a general lunatic asylum, near the city of Glocester. Including a digest of a scheme for such an institution: addressed to a general meeting of subscribers, held at the Glocester Infirmary, on the 14th of July, 1794. By Sir G.O. Paul.
top left corner
top right corner
bottom left corner
bottom right corner
image 12_main
PAUL, Sir George Onesiphorus (1746--1820)
Minutes of proceedings relative to the establishment of a general lunatic asylum, near the city of Glocester. Including a digest of a scheme for such an institution: addressed to a general meeting of subscribers, held at the Glocester Infirmary, on the 14th of July, 1794. By Sir G.O. Paul.
Gloucester printed at the special request of the Committee appointed to carry the design into effect, 1796.
70, 22 p. ; 21.2 cm. (8º)

Printer's imprint on p. 70: Printed by W. and C. Spilsbury, Snowhill. Sir George Onesiphorus Paul, a Benthamite and disciple of John Howard (q.v.), and an advocate of evangelical humanism, was well-known for his philanthropy. Paul had been involved in the building of the new Gloucester gaol in 1780 (architect William Blackburn) and promoted the new gaols at Northleach, Littledean and elsewhere in the county in 1790. He was High Sheriff of Gloucester when George III paid his visit to the county to take the waters at Cheltenham following his first manic episode in 1788 and this inspired Paul to bring forward a scheme for an asylum. Edward Jenner and Robert Raikes were among the original local subscribers. At this early stage, John Nash was engaged to produce drawings for the Asylum which were not in fact used. Paul was a proponent of Charles Williams-Wynne's 'County Asylum Act' of 1808 and it was not until 1812 that he embarked on the building of the Gloucester Asylum. Paul firstly engaged William Stark (1770--1813), architect of the Glasgow Asylum, who soon died, as then did his successor John Wheeler. Stark's designs and the construction were finally completed under John Collingwood (1760--1831) in 1823. See: J.R.S. Whiting, Prison reform in Gloucestershire, 1776--1820: a study of the work of Sir George Onesiphorus Paul, Bart. (London: Phillimore, 1975). See also: C. Stevenson, Medicine and magnificence: British hospital and asylum architecture, 1660-1815 (Yale University Press, 2000). ESTC t173217.

Copy Notes Inscribed on title-page From the Author / to Mr Nash and bound (1) with A scheme of an institution, and a description of a plan, for a general lunatic asylum, for the western counties, to be built in or near the city of Glocester, unanimously approved of at a general meeting of the subscribers ... on the 14th day of July, 1794 (q.v.). Acquired at John Nash's sale, 15--20 July, 1835 (q.v.).

Binding Late C18th/early C19th half calf, marbled-paper boards, gilt double-ruled spine, red morocco spine-label.

Reference Number 97


If you have any further information about this book,
please contact us:

books@soane.org.uk