Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  [1] Survey of St James's Palace, 1792 (and copied 27 April 1833)
top left corner
top right corner
bottom left corner
bottom right corner
Image Not Yet Available

Reference number

SM 62/2/6

Purpose

[1] Survey of St James's Palace, 1792 (and copied 27 April 1833)

Aspect

Plan

Scale

bar scale of 5/11 inch to 10 feet

Inscribed

labelled: The Garden, Old Library, Coffee Rooms, Passage, Queens Back Stairs, Yard (twice), Pheasant Court, Mrs / Dashwood, Passage, French Chapel, Yard, Maids of Honors / Dining Rooms, Mrs Chetwynd, Miss Boscawen, Her Majestys / Laundry, Household / Barber, Lady Charlotte / Finch, Yeomen of Guard, Gateway, Great Court, Colonnade, Passage, German Chapel, Paradise Court, Back / Stairs, Bed Chamber, Women, Passage, Mr Goodrick, Confecti- / onary, Yard, Chaplain, Clerk of the Kitchins (sic) / Office, Yard, Passage, Chapel / Royal, (red pen) Guard Room, (red pen) Suttling House, Ewery, Gateway (twice), Greencloth Court, Silver / Scullery, Passage, Arcade, Bread / Pantry, Pantry, Mr Povarains, Gentlen Pensioners, Yard, Mr Ramus, Engine Court, Miss Tryon, Miss Beauclark, Mr Dalton, Yard, Engine / Court, Yard, Passage, Kitchen, Court, Cleveland Row, Young Princes Apartments, Yard, Charles Ramus, Lord Chamberlains Office, Mr Barnard, Yard, Yard, Area, Prince of / Mecklenburghs / Apartments, Coll Keene, Way leading to the Park, Earl of Godolphins, Green / Office, Mr Godolphin, Butter & Egg Office, Spicery, Stable Yard, Arcade, Wardrobe and and (sic) Store Rooms, Houses belonging to Sundry Persons, Laundry, Passage, Yard (twice), Lady Broughton, Larder, Mr Nicolai, Her Majestys Library, Green Park, Way to sundry Stables &c round to Little St James's Street, Scalding & / Herb Office, Yard, Charcoal / Office, Oyl / Office, Engine / House, Chimney Sweeper Dust / Hole &c, Shed (3 times), Office of Works / Yard, Sheds, Earl Spencers / House, (in a later hand) A Copy of this Plan made & sent to Coll Davies MP / by his request 27 Apl 1833, some dimensions given

Signed and dated

John Soane Arch / 1792

Medium and dimensions

Pen and sepia wash, pricked for transfer on three sheets of laid paper, affixed, with two fold marks (1173 x 914)

Hand

Soane Office

Watermark

J Buttanshaw = fleur-de-lis above cartouche with double bar / GR

Notes

The 'Suttling House' was a canteen for the guards. Colonel Davies (1789-1846), who requested a copy of this plan on 27 April 1833, was MP for Worcester. (TD)

Level

Drawing

Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).