Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Survey drawing of additions and alterations to the House of Lords, 20 March 1827

Browse

top left corner
top right corner
bottom left corner
bottom right corner
image SM 51/3/12

Reference number

SM 51/3/12

Purpose

Survey drawing of additions and alterations to the House of Lords, 20 March 1827

Aspect

Plan of the Ground Floor

Scale

bar scale of 1/15 inch to 1 foot

Inscribed

as above, labelled: House of Lords, Arcade, Masters / in / Chancery, Staircase (5 times), Additional / Clerk / Assistant, Reading / Clerks / Room, The Peers Entrance, Hall, Area (5 times), Vaults under House of Lords &c, Servants / Hall, Bishops / Servants, The Bishops Entrance, Bishops / Waiting / Room, Scala Regia, Cellar, Mrs Wagner, 24'6'', 26'0'', Cellar (3 times), Passage, Parliamentary Papers of the House of Lords, 82.6, 8.6 high, Hall, Clerks / Room, Clerks Room / No 1 / 24'0'' x 21'9'' / 11.9 high, Clerks Room / No 2 / 18.0 by 15.6, (pencil) 20.6, (pencil) Waiting / Room, 18.0 by 15.6, Clerks Room / No 4 / 24.0 by 21'9'', Door, Passage, (pencil) 4 Clerks Room / 28'3'' by 25'9'' / 11.9, 25'9'' by 19'0'' / (pencil) 2 Clerks Room, 17'9'' by 12'0'', 25.9 by 14'6'' / (pencil) 2 Clerks Room, 4.6, Door, 14'6'', Plan of the Ground Floor, Vaults under Painted Chamber and (pencil) some calculations

Signed and dated

Lincolns Inn Fields / 20 March 1827 and (in Soane's hand) J.S. 21 March 1827

Medium and dimensions

Pen, black, pink, dark pink, sepia, blue and yellow washes, pricked for transfer with double ruled border on wove paper (545 x 425)

Hand

Charles James Richardson (1806 - 1871)
Pupil February 1824 - January 1827.

Watermark

J Whatman Turkey Mill 1825

Notes

This drawing shows the extent of Soane's alterations and additions to the House of Lords between 1822 and 1827. The new work is shown in the customary pink wash. At the bottom of the sheet is the Royal Entrance giving onto the Scala Regia. Immediately to the left (north) of the Scala Regia are the cellars and servants' rooms beneath the new library and, east of this, the floor beneath the Royal Gallery used for the storage of parliamentary papers. At the top of the sheet (towards the river) are Soane's latest additions, the new Committee Rooms. All of Soane's works fall on the south side of the Painted Chamber and the House of Lords, whose thick medieval walls are shown in black wash. The regularity of Soane's additions contrasts with the historic layout of the medieval Palace. The drawing is signed and dated at the bottom of the sheet by Soane, now aged 73.

Level

Drawing

Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).