Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Design for a new Royal Entrance, 25 July 1822


top left corner
top right corner
bottom left corner
bottom right corner
image SM 71/2/64

Reference number

SM 71/2/64


Design for a new Royal Entrance, 25 July 1822


Plan of the new Royal Entrance


bar scale of 1/3 inch to 1 foot


labelled: A The width of this Arch determines B / C The width of this Arch is determined by D, A (twice), Part of / Old Pier, B (9 times), C (twice), D, E, Eql (4 times), The distance from A to B determines the distance from C to A and dimensions given

Signed and dated

  • 25 July 1822
    Lincolns Inn Fields / 25th July 1822

Medium and dimensions

Pen, pink and sepia washes, pricked for transfer on two sheets of wove paper, affixed (706 x 775)


George Bailey (1792 - 1860)
Pupil and assistant August 1806 - January 1837.


Smith & Allnutt


The Royal Entrance in this design is realigned and made smaller in comparison with an earlier design (SM 71/2/82) and has a new vestibule appended to the north end.



Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).