Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  [1] Design for alterations and additions to the ground floor, 1798

Browse

top left corner
top right corner
bottom left corner
bottom right corner
image SM 5/1/17

Reference number

SM 5/1/17

Purpose

[1] Design for alterations and additions to the ground floor, 1798

Aspect

Part plan of the ground floor

Scale

bar scale of 3/16 inch to 1 foot

Inscribed

Mr Biscoe, Sketch of a Design for the proposed Alterations and Additions, labelled: Library, Entrance Hall, Passage to Offices, Water Closet, Eating Room, Drawing Room

Signed and dated

  • 1798
    1798

Medium and dimensions

Pen, sepia and pink washes, pricked for transfer on wove paper (342 x 552)

Hand

Soane Office

Notes

Only part of the existing house is shown in this drawing, as well as a design for additions to include a Drawing Room, Eating Room and Water Closet. There are four points of access between the old and new parts of the house. The entrance to the Eating Room is wider on the side of the Entrance Hall.

Level

Drawing

Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).