Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Ossington Hall, Nottinghamshire: designs for garden buildings for John Denison 1786 (8)

Browse

Purpose

Ossington Hall, Nottinghamshire: designs for garden buildings for John Denison 1786 (8)

Signed and dated

  • 1786
    Main Year

Notes

In April 1786, Soane provided Denison with designs for a circular temple, a 'prospect room' and lodges. He was not involved in the building programme. Seven drawings, including six presentation drawings and a working drawing, are in the Denison papers. Richard Hewlings surmises that, with the possible exception of the lodges, none of Soane's designs were built (R. Hewlings, p.280).

Ossington was bought by William Denison in 1768 and eventually inherited in 1785 by his nephew, John Wilkinson, later Denison. Immediately upon acquiring the estate, John Denison commissioned designs for various ornamental buildings that would enhance the property and draw the attention of passing travellers (R. Hewlings, p.272).

Soane's temple was probably designed in recognition of an unbuilt design by John Carr, and may even have been intended to stand upon existing foundations of Carr's temple. Initially commissioned by William Denison and subsequently by Ossington’s brief owner and brother to William, Robert Denison, Carr designed a garden temple having a circular plan, two floors and a freestanding Roman Doric colonnade adorned with an Adam-inspired frieze and an urn finial (not unlike Soane’s design). Five designs were produced by Carr for Robert Denison from 1782 to 1786 and the foundations for one of them were laid (G. Worsley, p.190). With the estate’s change of ownership in 1786, however, came a new architectural programme and John Carr’s commissions were dropped in favour of the young John Soane.

In May, Soane was called to Ossington and in July he sent his pupil John Sanders to survey the house and offices. Soane sent four designs for alterations and additions in October, charging 21 guineas. These presentation drawings are in the Denison papers.

Extensive alterations to the house were made by William Lindley in 1788-90 and 1805-6, so Soane's work would have been either immediately demolished or subsumed. Soane charged Denison a total of £77 12s 6d for his drawings and a copy of 'my book'.

Literature: R. Hewlings, 'Soane's Designs for Ossington', Architectural History, vol. 27,1984, pp. 271-80; P. Dean, Sir John Soane and the country estate, 1999, p. 176; G. Worsley, ed., John Carr of York, 2000, pp. 189-90.

Madeleine Helmer, 2011

Level

Scheme

Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).  


Contents of Ossington Hall, Nottinghamshire: designs for garden buildings for John Denison 1786 (8)