Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Front Court and Pay Hall, 1799-1801 and 1806-1810 (24)


Front Court and Pay Hall, 1799-1801 and 1806-1810 (24)

Signed and dated

  • Main Year: 0


The Pay Hall, Front Court and entrance building were part of the original Bank, built by George Sampson in the 1730s. The Pay Hall, just north of the Front Court, always served as the Bank's central public banking hall. It remained largely unchanged during both Taylor and Soane's surveyorships. Soane's proposals were often met with an unusual reluctance as the Directors conservatively chose to preserve the Bank's symbolic centre.

Soane proposed to alter the Front Court in January 1801 and then later again in January 1807. The latter was a less intrusive design but was also turned down. His 1801 design was a vestibule with some seating around the edges, allowing the public to congregate before entering the various parts of the Bank. In 1807 he proposed a simple corridor passing through the Front Court, combined with drastic alterations to the Bank's Rotunda, south transfer office and Rotunda vestibule. In 1806 the vaults beneath the Bank were altered as the Bullion Office was rebuilt (see Bullion Office scheme 3:12).

Soane managed the layout of the busy Pay Hall. In 1806 the offices directly north were partly integrated with the Pay Hall to provide more public banking space. In 1810, 1829 and 1831 Soane arranged and rearranged the Pay Hall desks, providing separate areas for the tellers, public drawing office clerks, bill office clerks, as well as the space for the necessary ledgers. An inspector and cashier took a prominent surveillance position in the centre of the Hall. In 1831 a gallery floor was built over half the Pay Hall, further extending the working space. The Pay Hall was in many ways the symbolic centre of the Bank. A German tourist recounted his visit there in 1853: 'it makes not a disagreeable impression as our German offices do where everything is official and officious, oppressive, and calculated to put people down. On the contrary, there's a vast deal of good society in this office: at least a hundred officials and members of the public. The officials have no official importance whatever; they are simple mortals, and do their business and serve their customers as if they were mere shopboys in a grocery shop. [...] And the public too! Was such a thing ever heard of in a public office? Men, women, and boys, with their hats on! walking arm in arm as if they were in the park.'(Schlessinger)

Madeleine Helmer, 2011

Literature: M. Schlessinger, Saunterings in and about London, London, 1853, p. 218.



Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).  

Contents of Front Court and Pay Hall, 1799-1801 and 1806-1810 (24)