Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  The Great House, Low Leyton, Essex: designs for remodelling the principal rooms, for Thomas Oliver, c1767 (6)

Browse

Purpose

The Great House, Low Leyton, Essex: designs for remodelling the principal rooms, for Thomas Oliver, c1767 (6)

Signed and dated

  • 1767

Notes

Richard Oliver (1735-84), was the son of Rowland Oliver of Antigua, a member of the Antiguan Council. In 1758 he married his cousin, Mary Oliver, the heiress of Richard Oliver, a West Indian merchant, and succeeded to his property in Low Leyton in 1767. He served as an alderman and MP for London in 1770-80, when he resigned these offices in order to return to Antigua. Richard died aboard ship during his voyage back to England in 1784.

Adam's plans for the Great House at Low Leyton show an early Georgian fabric to which he made alterations to the interior. Although the house was demolished in 1905, the extent of Adam's work there has been established by King by looking at a 1902 description of the building and surviving photographs. Adam made alterations to the dining room and drawing room on the ground storey, and to various bedrooms on the first storey. These works were completed in 1769.

In the past there has been some confusion over the name of the patron at Low Leyton as some of the drawings are inscribed with the alternative name, Thomas Oliver. Thomas was Richard Oliver’s younger brother, as well as his business and political partner. As both brothers’ names appear on the Adam drawings it is possible that they both resided at Low Leyton.

Literature:
A.T. Bolton, The architecture of Robert and James Adam, 1922, Volume II, Index pp. 21, 83; D. King, The complete works of Robert & James Adam and unbuilt Adam, 2001, Volume I, pp. 225, 244-45; 'Oliver, Richard (1735-84), of Fenchurch St., London', History of Parliament online, 2012

Frances Sands, 2012

Level

Scheme

Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).  


Contents of The Great House, Low Leyton, Essex: designs for remodelling the principal rooms, for Thomas Oliver, c1767 (6)