Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Record drawing

Browse

top left corner
top right corner
bottom left corner
bottom right corner
image SM Volume 42/35

Reference number

SM Volume 42/35

Purpose

Record drawing

Aspect

Details from a Cast of one of the Gothic niches at St George's Chapel / Windsor for Mr Soane's acceptance showing a half-elevation of a crocketed ogee arch with cusped and rosette trefoils and trefoil-headed panels behind; and half-elevation labelled (Soane) Back of four-centred arch with mouchette, trefoil and quatrefoil shapes and cinquefoil headed panelling; and detail of moulding

Inscribed

as above, addressed from Ornamental Stone Manuf[actor]y / ... / Mr Sealys Comp[limen]ts - find herewith ...

Signed and dated

  • 12 Jany 1790

Medium and dimensions

Pencil, brown pen (inscriptions) on laid paper with two fold marks (202 x 160)

Hand

Coade workshop

Watermark

(part of) S. Lay over C

Notes

St George's Chapel, Windsor was begun in 1475 by Edward IV and completed by about 1511. The Windsor architect and builder Henry Emlyn (c.1729-1815) restored it between 1787 and 1792 and his work included the successful design of the Gothic organ gallery which was executed in Coade stone. Coade stone was a ceramic artificial stone, manufactured in Lambeth from 1769 by Eleanor Coade (1733-1821). John Sealy was a cousin who worked there, becoming a partner in 1799. Soane used Coade stone for many of his buildings.

Literature

A.Kelly, Mrs Coade's stone, 1990, Upton-upon Severn, pp.216-7; H.Colvin, Biographical dictionary of British architects 1600-1840, 3rd ed., 1995

Level

Drawing

Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).