Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Designs for the new buildings and Triumphal Arch on Downing Street, April 1826 (2)
top left corner
top right corner
bottom left corner
bottom right corner
image Image 1 for SM (225) 49/5/25 (226) 49/5/34
image Image 2 for SM (225) 49/5/25 (226) 49/5/34
  • image Image 1 for SM (225) 49/5/25 (226) 49/5/34
  • image Image 2 for SM (225) 49/5/25 (226) 49/5/34

Reference number

SM (225) 49/5/25 (226) 49/5/34


Designs for the new buildings and Triumphal Arch on Downing Street, April 1826 (2)


225 Site plan 226 Site plan


(225, 226) bar scales of 5/12 inch to 10 feet


225 labelled: King Street, State Paper Office, Fludyer Street, Mr Planta, Hall, Dining Room, St James's Park (twice), Judge Advocate, Mr Lushington, Garden (twice), Chancellor of the Exchequer, Leading to the Park, Area (4 times), Melbourne House, Low Building, Hall (5 times), 21 x 11, 26 x 17, 21 x 26, Treasury Passage, Board of Trade, Council Offices, Whitehall 226 labelled: King Street, Q[eur]y State Paper Office, Fludyer Street, Downing Place, Foreign Office, Mr Canning's House, St James's Park (twice), The Jude Advocate's / House, Mr Lushington, Garden (twice), The Chancellor of the / Exchequer's House, Passage leading to the Park, Treasury Passage, Melbourne House, Secretary of state / Home Department, Board of Trade, Council Offices, Whitehall

Signed and dated

  • (225) Lincolns Inn Fields / 15 April 1826 (226) Lincolns Inn Fields April 1826

Medium and dimensions

(225, 226) Pen, sepia, pink, grey, blue and green washes, pricked for transfer with seven ruled, sepia and black wash border on wove paper (533 x 731, 529 x 722)


(225) Stephen Burchell (1806-?, pupil 1823-28) (226) George Bailey (1792-1860, pupil then assistant 1806-37, curator 1837-60)


(225, 226) Smith & Allnutt 1823


Similar in design to drawings 187-191 and 212-214, drawings 225 and 226 show the Downing Street site with the proposed State Paper Office and Triumphal Arch and alterations to the Foreign Office. On drawing 225 the Arch is shown in two locations in dotted lines and further along Downing Street in pink wash. Drawing 225 shows the State Paper Office with a bowed (west) end. Other distinctions on drawing 226 include a new entrance to the stables and a concave pavement line behind the Privy Council Offices (compared to a convex line of pavement on drawing 225).



Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).