Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Design for the new buildings and Triumphal Arch on Downing Street, January 1826
top left corner
top right corner
bottom left corner
bottom right corner
image SM (212) 49/5/33

Reference number

SM (212) 49/5/33

Purpose

Design for the new buildings and Triumphal Arch on Downing Street, January 1826

Aspect

212 Site plan with Section shewing the Levels of the Paving in Fludyer St

Scale

bar scale of 4/5 inch to 10 feet

Inscribed

labelled: Whitehall, Council Offices, (pencil) ----- (illegible) Line, Board of Trade, Hall (5 times), Passage, Staircase (3 times), Treasury Passage, (pencil) Court, Treasury Passage leading to the Park, Treasury, Melbourne House, (pencil) Area, St James Park, Garden belonging to / the Treasury, Areas &c (twice), Mr Lushington, Area, Chancellor of the Exchequer, Downing Square, Park, 2'6'', Mr Canning, 5'6'', Foreign Office, Private Houses, Fludyer Street, 4'3'', King St

Signed and dated

  • Lincolns Inn Fields / Jany 26th 1826

Medium and dimensions

Pen, pink, sepia, yellow ochre and blue washes, pricked for transfer with quadruple ruled, sepia and black wash border on wove paper (536 x 742)

Hand

Stephen Burchell (1806-?, pupil 1823-28)

Watermark

Smith & Allnutt 1823

Notes

The new building on the south side of Downing Street - identified elsewhere as the State Paper Office - has columns only at the corners of the pavilion and therefore matches the perspective drawing 196. The part plan in pencil on the right of the drawing is a detail of the facilities and area between the stables and the Treasury. Alterations to the Foreign Office which were carried out by Soane in 1826 are also shown in pink wash (q.v. Soane: Office of Works: London: Old Foreign Office, Downing Street: designs for alterations, 1825).

Level

Drawing

Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).