Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  [46] Unexecuted design for fitting out the Stone Building for storing the records of the King's Bench, 17 May 1827
top left corner
top right corner
bottom left corner
bottom right corner
image SM (46) 51/5/51

Reference number

SM (46) 51/5/51

Purpose

[46] Unexecuted design for fitting out the Stone Building for storing the records of the King's Bench, 17 May 1827

Aspect

46 Three floor plans showing the layout of tables, presses and shelving, and elevations of shelving

Scale

to a scale

Inscribed

(pencil) King's Bench Records, Table (twice), Table & Press (5 times), Gallery Floor ---- --- (illegible), Gallery, calculations and some dimensions given

Signed and dated

  • (pencil) May 17th 1827

Medium and dimensions

Pen, sepia, brown madder and yellow washes, pencil, pricked for transfer on wove paper with one fold mark (515 x 717)

Hand

Soane office (nil in Day Book)

Watermark

Smith & Allnutt 1823

Notes

A sectional survey (drawing 45) of the Stone Building shows it as a five-storey (or four storeys and a gallery) building with a vaulted undercroft labelled 'Grand Inquest Jury', a ground floor labelled 'Records & Writs' a gallery, a first floor labelled 'Augmentation Room', and a second floor labelled 'Mr Hewit[t]'. Four plans on survey drawings 43 and 44 are similarly labelled.
The drawing catalogued here is for two floors and a gallery, one of the floors is labelled 'King's Bench Records' which must refer to the ground floor, the gallery is labelled as such but the floor plan next to it though not labelled must be the first floor 'Augmentation Office' with the partition walls stripped out and three instead of five windows. This drawing is presumably an unexecuted design for the expansion of the King's Bench Records and Writs store?

Level

Drawing

Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).