Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  [43-45] Survey drawings of the Stone Building (3)
top left corner
top right corner
bottom left corner
bottom right corner
image Image 1 for SM (43) 51/5/50 (44) 51/5/52 (45) 51/5/47
image Image 2 for SM (43) 51/5/50 (44) 51/5/52 (45) 51/5/47
image Image 3 for SM (43) 51/5/50 (44) 51/5/52 (45) 51/5/47
  • image Image 1 for SM (43) 51/5/50 (44) 51/5/52 (45) 51/5/47
  • image Image 2 for SM (43) 51/5/50 (44) 51/5/52 (45) 51/5/47
  • image Image 3 for SM (43) 51/5/50 (44) 51/5/52 (45) 51/5/47

Reference number

SM (43) 51/5/50 (44) 51/5/52 (45) 51/5/47

Purpose

[43-45] Survey drawings of the Stone Building (3)

Aspect

43 Basement and ground floor plans 44 First floor and attics plans 45 Longitudinal Section through Record Office &c

Scale

(43-45) bar scale of 2 inches to 10 feet (1/5 inch to 1 foot)

Inscribed

43 Jury Rooms, Records & Writs and dimensions given 44 Augmentations Offices, Mr Hewitts Appartments, Flat (twice), Roof (twice), Gutter (twice), (pencil) Attic, calculations and dimensions given 45 as above, Grand Inquest Jury, Records & Writs, Augmentation Office, Mr Hewitt and dimensions given

Medium and dimensions

(43) Pen, sepia and burnt Sienna washes, pricked for transfer on stout wove paper with one fold (704 x 530) pen, sepia, burnt Sienna and blue washes, pricked for transfer on stout wove paper with one fold mark (667 x 533) pen, sepia, blue, burnt Sienna, olive green and pink washes on stout wove paper (440 x 530)

Hand

Soane office

Notes

The 'Stone Building' was in St Margaret Street within Palace of Westminster. Designed in a Palladian style 'probably' by John Vardy (1718-1765), it was begun in 1755-8 in order to house the records of the Law Courts, extended for the Ordnance Office in 1766-9 and completed by a corner pavilion and five-bay return by Kenton Couse (1721-1790) in 1768-70 so as to provide better accommodation for the Commons. (M. H. Port, The Palace of Westminster ... 1834, 2011, p.13).
The Select Comittee of 1830 dealing with the library and committee rooms recommended that the two committee rooms above the library be taken into the library and 'the Augmentation Offices in the Stone Building should be moved upstairs in order to provide space for additional committee rooms. These alterations were not executed.' (King's Works, VI, p.530).
The Augmentation Office, a sub-department of the Exchequer, was responsible for managing all the lands confiscated by the Crown since the reign of Henry VII, and it came into its own when later charged with accounting for the royal revenues arising from the Dissolution of the Monasteries.' (C. Shenton, The Day Parliament burned down, 2012, p.174)

Level

Drawing

Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).