Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Presentation drawing of the entrances to the counting houses as built, October 1810
top left corner
top right corner
bottom left corner
bottom right corner
image Image 1 for SM (91) 11/3/1
image Image 2 for SM (91) 11/3/1
  • image Image 1 for SM (91) 11/3/1
  • image Image 2 for SM (91) 11/3/1

Reference number

SM (91) 11/3/1

Purpose

Presentation drawing of the entrances to the counting houses as built, October 1810

Aspect

91 Perspective Sketch of the Entrances to the Offices of the London Dock Company & the Counting House / of Messrs Thelusson Nephew & Co from the Old Jewry; (verso): elevation of entrance to Thellusson, Nephew & Co.'s counting house

Scale

(verso) to a scale

Inscribed

as above and on panels over the doors, capitalised: Thelusson / Nephew & Co and The London / Dock House

Signed and dated

  • John Soane Arch Oct 1810

Medium and dimensions

Pen, sepia, burnt umber, blue and olive green washes, watercolour technique with a six ruled and black wash border (verso) pencil, pricked for transfer on stout laid paper (404 x 300)

Hand

George Bailey (1792-1860, pupil then assistant 1806-37, curator 1837-60)

Notes

There are some slight differences between the earlier designs (drawings 85-86) and the presentation drawing of the entrances to the counting houses as built (drawing 91). The panels in the attic of the Thellusson entrance and those opposite are decorated with winged staff motifs (a symbol of commerce) but those on the entrance to the London Dock House are decorated with urns. Urns are often used to symbolise rivers, appropriate therefore to the business of the London Dock Company. The doors are rivetted, so presumably double plated for security.

Level

Drawing

Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).