Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Record drawings showing alterations made during the first phase of work in 1826 (2)
top left corner
top right corner
bottom left corner
bottom right corner
image Image 1 for SM (32) 56/2/5 (33) 56/2/3
image Image 2 for SM (32) 56/2/5 (33) 56/2/3
  • image Image 1 for SM (32) 56/2/5 (33) 56/2/3
  • image Image 2 for SM (32) 56/2/5 (33) 56/2/3

Reference number

SM (32) 56/2/5 (33) 56/2/3

Purpose

Record drawings showing alterations made during the first phase of work in 1826 (2)

Aspect

32 Part plans of the ground floor 33 Part plan of the ground floor

Scale

(32, 33) bar scales of ¼ inch to 1 foot

Inscribed

32 labelled: Manchester, Proposed Passage, A (twice), B, C, D, E, F 33 labelled: Chancery Lane, (pencil) Chancery Lane, Werehouse [sic], (pencil) Store room, Old Counting house, (pencil) Butlers room, Porters Room, (pencil) Porters room, Mr Macgregors / Private Room, (pencil) Mr Macgregors / Room, Nothing done any farther than this, Yard, (pencil) Yard, this was not Done, (pencil) Servants Bed room, Passage, (pencil) Passage, Coal / house, (pencil) Coal, (pencil) Scullery, (pencil) Kitchen, steps numbered 1-2 and 3-15

Medium and dimensions

(32) Pen, sepia, pink and blue washes, pricked for transfer on wove paper with three fold marks (580 x 685) (33) pen, sepia, pink, blue and yellow washes, pricked for transfer on wove paper with one fold mark (565 x 685)

Hand

(32, 33) Thomas Heath, clerk of works

Notes

Drawings 32 and 33 record the alterations made to the bank during the first phase of work. A new wall has been built across the rear of the banking hall, creating a large, rectangular space separated from the rear of the house. The front entrance has been replaced with a window, and a new entrance built to the left of the façade. Additionally, a porter's room and two new water closet have been added, as well as two small rooms at the rear of the banking hall. Earlier designs (drawings 17-20) show how the ceiling of the banking hall was also remodelled. Evidently these were the only alterations - aside from the construction of a strong room in the basement - required to be made before the bank could open for business, which it did on 21 September 1826.

Level

Drawing

Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).