Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Survey drawing of an estate in St Benedicts formerly belonging to Thomas Starling Day and entered from Pottergate
top left corner
top right corner
bottom left corner
bottom right corner
image SM (35) 56/11/20

Reference number

SM (35) 56/11/20

Purpose

Survey drawing of an estate in St Benedicts formerly belonging to Thomas Starling Day and entered from Pottergate

Aspect

35 Ground floor Plan of an Estate in St Benedicts / late the property of Thos Starling Day Esqr

Scale

bar scale of 1/10 inch to 1 foot

Inscribed

as above, N[orth], E[ast], S[outh], W[est], Pottergate Street (twice), (pencil) Mr Sandales Kitchen and / Office is under this Dining Room, St Benedicts / Church Yard, St Benedicts / Church, James Back Esqr, Trustees of the / Catholic Chapel, Mr Nichols, Ten Bell Lane, Property sold / from this Estate, (pencil) Day's late / Bank, Breakfast Room / 9'4'' high, Hall, Drawing Room / 9'5'' high, Entrance, Mr Sendalls / Keeping Room, Mr Sandells / Parlor / 9'4'' high / Kitchen & Offices / in the Basement, Store / Room, Kitchen / 9'1'' high, back Hall, Butlers / Pantry, Dining Room / 11' 2'' high, Mr Sandalls / Yard, Laundry, Scullery, Yard (twice), Leasehold for 99 Years, Brewhouse, Coach House, Stable, Leantoo Shed, Yard / Freehold, Gate, Muck Binn, Tool / House, Freehold, Green House, Stone, Leasehold for 99 Years, Garden, Leasehold for 2000 Years, (in another hand) J / 11

Medium and dimensions

Pen, sepia, green, yellow ochre, yellow and pink washes on wove paper with four fold marks (635 x 532)

Hand

local surveyor

Watermark

C 1822

Notes

The house measures 63 feet deep and has a 62 foot frontage, whilst the overall site measures 192 by 172 feet at its widest points. The Starling Day & Son bank, founded by the grandfather of Thomas Starling Day, is shown very roughly in pencil. The bank was bailed out in 1825 by Gurney & Co. Day served as Mayor of Norwich in 1825, following his father (1808) and grandfather (1782 and 1812). 101-105 Pottergate were severely damaged in April 1942 and subsequently demolished.

Margaret Escott, Research: Constituencies: 1820-32: Norwich, http://www.historyofparliamentonline.org/volume/1820-1832/constituencies/norwich#footnote26_d1lzkjh

Level

Drawing

Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).