Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Survey drawing of site with surrounding premises, after 1827
  • image SM (8) 56/4/11

Reference number

SM (8) 56/4/11


Survey drawing of site with surrounding premises, after 1827


8 Sketched [Site] Plan of the Bank Premises in Union Street Birmingham / shewing their connection with the adjoining Premises



as above, labelled: Union Street, Paved Passage leading to New Street, A Timber Yard, Low Wall, Paved Passage, Small Dwelling House, Yard, The Birmingham Insurance Office, Mr Beswick, (Soane) --- (illegible) 4 / J.S. [John Soane] / --- -- (illegible) / Mr Withering, 2 Stories high, On Lease of £63 pr Ann. for 14 Yrs from Michs 1827, Subject to an Anne Ground Rent of £21.16.0 / for an unexpired term of 103 Yrs from June / 1828, Yard, Stable, On Lease £15 pr Ann for 14 Yrs / from Michs 1827, Warehouse, Door, Stable, Outer Yard belonging to the Bank through which / the proprietors of the Library have a right of way / which is occasionally exercised, Fence Wall, Dust / hole, Window (twice), The Old / Birmingham / Library, The Bank of England Branch, Low building, High Wall with Iron Railing, Gas Light, A., A. Strong door / plated with / Iron good foot / drop / & 2 Strong Iron bars / across, Building / 2 Stories high wh / Basemt, Iron Gate / & Railing, High Wall with Iron Railing thereon, Inn Yard, Building belonging to the / Union Inn, Building / 1 Story high, Yard of the Union Inn, The Union Inn, Gateway; (verso): Birmingham Branch, Sketched outline of the / Bank Premises in Union / Street shewing their / connection with the adjoining / Premises

Signed and dated

  • after 1827, also signed 'J.S.'

Medium and dimensions

Pen, sepia, burnt sienna, pink and blue washes, pricked for transfer on laid secretary paper with five fold marks (323 x 404)


badly-nested tags: br


Kent 1827, Britannia holding lance and olive branch with shield within crowned oval


Colours appear to represent ownership of different properties. The site plan shows the bank to be enclosed on three sides by the old library and buildings belonging to the Union Inn.

The drawing is datable post quem 1827 due to the watermark and references within the labelling.



Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).