Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Design drawing for addition and alterations including new eating room, ante-room and east front, 26 July 1796

Browse

top left corner
top right corner
bottom left corner
bottom right corner
image SM (16) 29/3/12

Reference number

SM (16) 29/3/12

Purpose

Design drawing for addition and alterations including new eating room, ante-room and east front, 26 July 1796

Aspect

16 Plan of the Ground Floor with alterations

Scale

bar scale of 1/6 inch to 1 foot, approximately

Inscribed

as above, The Countess of Pembroke, Porch, Vestibule / 11'11" by 19'0", Eating Room / 18'0" by 20'0", Anti Library / 18'0" by 15'6", Books (four times), Library, Servants Hall / 19'0" by 22'0", arcade, common staircase, door, way into / cellar, risers numbered 1 to 10, Court and Pantry

Signed and dated

(Copy) Lincolns Inn Fields July 29 1796

Medium and dimensions

Pencil, pen and grey, black and blue washes on wove paper with one fold mark (665 x 527)

Hand

Henry Hake Seward (pupil 1794-1808)

Notes

The proposed (though unbuilt) design entails demolishing the older rooms of the existing house and replacing them with a symmetrical east front containing large formal rooms. The new east front has a porch between two Venetian windows. An eating room and ante-room are on this east front and a new principal staircase occupies the centre of the plan. The principal rooms being arranged on the east and south fronts reduces the prominence of Soane's north-west drawing room of 1788-9.

On 28 July 1796 Soane visited Lady Pembroke at the lodge, staying from 10 until 3 to discuss designs for alterations. He returned home and, according to his Journal No3, worked on drawings until 11 at night. The following day he visited the client with two plans and two small views of a hall and eating room. The plans were approved and estimates were ordered, although building work did not commence.

Level

Drawing

Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).