Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Copy a presentation drawing for a stables and coach house, May 1785

Browse

top left corner
top right corner
bottom left corner
bottom right corner
image SM (1) volume 41/54

Reference number

SM (1) volume 41/54

Purpose

Copy a presentation drawing for a stables and coach house, May 1785

Aspect

1 Ground floor plan and laid out elevations, first floor plan

Scale

bar scale of 1/14 inch to 1 foot, approximately

Inscribed

Countess of Pembroke, All the Partitions are to be 4½ Inches thick / All the Timbers of the Roof & floors & the fitting / up of the Hayloft, Granary, Grooms Chambers, / Stables, Coachouses, Saddle & Harness Rooms to / be fitted up in every respect like the Stable / Buildings at Lord Pembroke's House in / Town with the best materials & in the / most substantial & workmanlike manner, Plan of the Hayloft &c, Hayloft, Grooms Chamber, Corn Chamber, Elevation of the Front of the Coachouse &c, Stone (three times), Plan of the Stables & Coachouses, Section through the Stable & Hayloft, Bond, Plate, Bond, Elevation of the Front, Elevation of the End Front, weatherboardg, weatherboarding, Ro. Whole deal Ridge / Rafters 5 by 2½ / Purloins 4 by 4 / Collars .. 6 by 3 / Poll plate 5 by 3 / Front Center to Center of Rafters 1'4" / Joists .. 6 by 2½ / Bond .. 4 by 2½ and dimensions given

Signed and dated

  • May 1785

Medium and dimensions

Pen and coloured washes, including burnt umber, Payne's grey, pink and yellow, on laid paper (245 x 364), bound into 'Precedents in Architecture' SM volume 41

Hand

attributed to John Sanders (1784-90)

Watermark

T French

Notes

An efficient compact structure, the building houses two coaches and six stalls. The main two-storey building is brick and the three single-storey extremities are built of timber. The front elevation is articulated with three round-headed blind arches, each having a window in the crown and a tripartite window below. The coach houses are entered from the opposite side. A bedroom for the groom is over the stables, beside store rooms for hay and corn.

Soane's Journal No 1 records drawings made for stables and alterations to the hayfloor. It is unknown whether the building was executed.

Level

Drawing

Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).