Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Site-progress drawing and site record drawing, 13-17 August 1816 (2)
  • image Image 1 for SM (20) volume 46/29 (21) volume 56/1
  • image Image 2 for SM (20) volume 46/29 (21) volume 56/1
  • image Image 1 for SM (20) volume 46/29 (21) volume 56/1
  • image Image 2 for SM (20) volume 46/29 (21) volume 56/1

Reference number

SM (20) volume 46/29 (21) volume 56/1


Site-progress drawing and site record drawing, 13-17 August 1816 (2)


20 Perspective showing Part of the East and South sides of the Building 21 Half-elevation showing The arch on the East side of the Office over the Cheque Office / shewing the centering and how the Stones are put together / etc.. etc..., Section of arch / to show the Joints, Section of Centering / etc... and side of the Stones / in the Joint B


20 as above 21 as above and some dimensions given

Signed and dated

  • (20) August 13th. 1816 (21) Saturday August 17th: 1816_


(20-21) Henry Parke (1790-1835, pupil 1814-20)


Drawing 20 shows two of the east wall windows with centering arches and partially constructed masonry arches in place. Beams are positioned to prevent the centering arches from collapsing inwards. The windows and fireplace of the north wall are also shown: a narrow window at the eastern corner and a segmental arch to the side of the fireplace.

Drawing 20 also shows the roof of the Reduced Annuities Office below, with wooden boards for the workmen to walk on until the floor was constructed. The floor itself had to be slightly raised, in order to avoid altering the roof of the room below.

Drawing 21 shows an elevation part of a centering arch with masonry constructed around it. A section of the masonry blocks that make up the arch is also shown, and a parallel section of the centering supporting the masonry section. The centering and masonry arch shown corresponds to the window arches of drawing 20, in the east wall (bordering the Garden Court).



Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).