Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Record (working) drawings, 20 April 1815 (2)


top left corner
top right corner
bottom left corner
bottom right corner
image Image 1 for SM (149) volume 76/52 (150) volume 76/53
image Image 2 for SM (149) volume 76/52 (150) volume 76/53
  • image Image 1 for SM (149) volume 76/52 (150) volume 76/53
  • image Image 2 for SM (149) volume 76/52 (150) volume 76/53

Reference number

SM (149) volume 76/52 (150) volume 76/53


Record (working) drawings, 20 April 1815 (2)


149 Plan of part of the additions to the Clerk-of-the-Works House on the Basement Story, Chelsea Hospital 150 Chelsea Hospital. / Section of the Basement Story of part of the additions / to the Clerk of Works' house.


(149-150) to a scale


149-150 as above and some dimensions given

Signed and dated

  • (149) April 20th 1815 (150) April 20th. 1815


Soane office


(149) 1814 (150) 1812


The construction of Soane's additions to the Clerk of Works' House began in April 1815. These two drawings, dated to that same month, are too neat or too finished (the shaded section) to be working drawings and are probably record copies made as part of a pupil's education.

Drawing 149 shows the timber structure of the ground floor. This plan (more or less) corresponds with the top-left (south-east) corner of drawing 155. In the centre to the south wall is a space for the stone hearth slab. The wall shown in grey wash on the north side of the room was part of the original structure, retained by Soane.

Drawing 150 is the corresponding section to drawing 149. It shows the south wall of the south-east corner room, with a central fire-place and windows either side of it. The beams are shown above, in the exact spacing and thickness of those on the plan. Drawing 150 also shows two beams ('bond timbers') spanning the width of each window. It seems likely that these were for temporary support, across the brickwork and unglazed windows, during construction.



Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).