Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Design of the offices between Lothbury Court and the Bullion Court, 21 February 1799
top left corner
top right corner
bottom left corner
bottom right corner
image SM (68) 10/3/1

Reference number

SM (68) 10/3/1


Design of the offices between Lothbury Court and the Bullion Court, 21 February 1799


68 Plan indicating the existing buildings in black and the proposed building works in light red, showing offices with curving interiors; (Soane) alterations to the design, including a second Secretary's office and a Strong Closet, a chimney-piece in The Secretary's Office, a variation in the corridor leading to the Bullion Court, a Strong Clo[set] off the Deputy Accountant's Office, columnal variations in the Accountant General's Office and the Residence Court (Office Court), a chimney-piece in the Interior Office for the Consols


bar scale


as above, The Bank of England, Lothbury Quadrangle, Vestibule, Lobby, Water / Closet, Watch / Box, Iron Gate, Open, 3 pr Cent Consols, water, Bullion Offices, Secretary, Strong Closet, Dep:? / Accountant Generals / Room, Closet, Court, Mr Edward's / present Room and some dimensions given

Signed and dated

  • Lincolns Inn Fields Febry 21. 1799


Soane and Soane office


The north-east extension had to fit into an irregular parcel of land between the streets and the existing Bank. The existing buildings were directed at a different angle from Lothbury Street and so the joining of the two sides was not easy. The rectangular Lothbury Court gave a semblance of order to the interior. The offices, on the other hand, were awkward shapes. As shown in drawings 1 to 3, the offices were polygons at first but Soane eventually curved the corners and ends of these rooms, therby masking their unusual shapes and angles. Drawing 68 shows slight refinements to the plan in Soane's hand, including another Secretary's office and strong closets in some of the offices. In the corridor leading from Lothbury Court to the Bullion Court, a turn was included at the recommendation of one of the Bank's directors, Mr Dea, to inable a direct view from the outside to the Bullion Court. This suggestion was made in October 1797 but it was eventually dropped in favour of a straight approach.



Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).