Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Survey drawings of the College, and of the Chapel, one dated 5 June 1811 (2)

Browse

top left corner
top right corner
bottom left corner
bottom right corner
image Image 1 for SM (4) 65/4/2 (5) 65/4/5
image Image 2 for SM (4) 65/4/2 (5) 65/4/5
  • image Image 1 for SM (4) 65/4/2 (5) 65/4/5
  • image Image 2 for SM (4) 65/4/2 (5) 65/4/5

Reference number

SM (4) 65/4/2 (5) 65/4/5

Purpose

Survey drawings of the College, and of the Chapel, one dated 5 June 1811 (2)

Aspect

4 Ground plan of Dulwich College, first and second floor plans and Section of the Left [east] Wing and Section of the Right [west] Wing and (verso, pencil) slight unidentified plan 5 Plan of the Chapel and (verso, pencil) unidentified plan with some dimenions given, the largest 25.4

Scale

(4) bar scale of 1/17 inch to 1 foot (5) bar scale of 1/6 inch to 1 foot

Inscribed

4 as above, The Establishment consists / of A Master Mr Allen 4 Rooms / Warden Mr Allen 3 Do / Minister Mr Smith 3 Do 1 Cellar / School Master Mr Julian 4 Do 1 Do / An Usher Mr Corry 3 Do 1 Do / Organist Mr Dowell 1Do 1Do / No. 6 Old Women 6 Do / 6 (sic) Old Men 12 Do / 12 Boys 2 Do / Butler 2 Do / Cook 2 Do / Scullery Maid 1 Do / House Maid 3 Do, with rooms labelled 5 as above, Line of Gallery and dimensions given

Signed and dated

(4) June 5th 1811

Medium and dimensions

(4) Pen, sepia and rose pink washes and pencil, partly pricked for transfer on wove paper (344 x 579) (5) pen, pencil and sepia wash, partly pricked for transfer on wove paper (331 x 561)

Hand

(4-5) George Allen Underwood (1793-1829, pupil 1807-1815) (4) (Day Book entry for 5 June 1811) (5) (attribution by comparison of hands)

Notes

The west (or 'left') wing of the College consists of single rooms for the six almswomen while the three-storey east (or 'right') wing has two rooms for each of six almsmen on the ground floor and on the two floors above are the double-height school room and rooms for the minister, school master, usher and servants. Located on the south side are the chapel, dining rooms and kitchen offices. The chapel was the only part of the College which was preserved. The plans of the chapel in the drawings show the buttresses projecting from its exterior.

Literature

F. Nevola, Soane's favourite subject: the story of Dulwich Picture Gallery, 2000, (4) pp. 14 & 171-172; (5) pp. 15 & 172

Level

Drawing

Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).