Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Survey of the northern end of Whitehall Palace, between Wood Yard and Scotland Yard Dock, in response to a petition from Sir Stephen Fox for building lodgings on the site in 1691
top left corner
top right corner
bottom left corner
bottom right corner
image SM volume 165, fo. 117

Reference number

SM volume 165, fo. 117


Survey of the northern end of Whitehall Palace, between Wood Yard and Scotland Yard Dock, in response to a petition from Sir Stephen Fox for building lodgings on the site in 1691


2 Plan


20 feet to 1 inch (drawn scale)


By Hawksmoor in pen and brown ink with names of areas within the site, including title at the top, S.r Stephen Fox his App: July 14. 1691, and Ground of the Building now Standing, within area marked 97 : 3 and 100 between Bridge at bottom right, and Water gate at upper left centre; and on verso with orders from July and August 1691 (see Wren Society, XVIII, p. 76).

Signed and dated

  • 14 July 1691

Medium and dimensions

Pen and brown ink over pencil, on original writing paper of volume; 230 x 357.




none visible


The plan relates to Wren's response of 14 July 1691 to an undated petition by Sir Stephen Fox, copied into the 'Court Orders' at fo. 115 v. (Wren Society, XVIII, p. 75) on the page following an order dated 11 June 1691 (fo. 114 v.). North is at the bottom of the sheet. Hawksmoor's drawing marks in dotted outline within the area inscribed Ground of the Building now Standing the lines of passages and areas that have been, or will be, removed as a consequence of Sir Stephen's Fox's appropriation of this land for the building of his lodgings. The entire site marked as 124 feet 6 inches long by 94 feet west to east. The length along the Thames frontage is 100 feet and the oblique side bordering Scotland Yard Dock is 97 feet 3 inches long.At All Souls College are three plan studies for Sir Stephen Fox's house on this site, drawn by Hawksmoor, c.1691-92 (Geraghty, The Architectural Drawings of Sir Christopher Wren, 2007, nos. 334-36). They provide for a deep range on the river frontage and two wings on the west side enclosing a small open entrance court.


redrawn copy of plan in Wren Society, XVIII, pl. 4



Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).