Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  [9] Copy of design for an entrance with lodges decorated with Coade stone heraldic greyhounds, August 1790

Browse

top left corner
top right corner
bottom left corner
bottom right corner
Image Not Yet Available

Reference number

62/8/49

Purpose

[9] Copy of design for an entrance with lodges decorated with Coade stone heraldic greyhounds, August 1790

Aspect

Plan of the Lodge, Elevation towards the Park and Elevation towards the Road with rough (Soane, pencil) detail of antefixa

Scale

bar scale of ¼ inch to 1 foot

Inscribed

as above, Sir Thomas Beauchamp Proctor Bart, The Archivolt to be in 5 Pieces of Stone / as shown by the dotted lines, (on plinths) TOUJOURS FIDELE and dimensions given

Signed and dated

Copy Augst 1790

Medium and dimensions

Pen, sepia, light red and black washes, shaded, red sealing wax on verso, on thin laid paper with one fold mark (561 x 683)

Hand

Sanders, John (1768--1826), draughtsman
John Sanders (pupil 1784-90) see note below

Level

Drawing

Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).