Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Design for altering the main corridor on the first floor, 20 June 1804 (1)

Browse

Purpose

Design for altering the main corridor on the first floor, 20 June 1804 (1)

Notes

The plan of the chamber floor varies from drawing 22, a design dated October 1802. Drawing 35 shows alterations to the corridor and some of the adjoining rooms, with the existing building in black wash and the proposed alterations in grey. The corridor is wider and with four columns at the top of the stairs. At the east end of the corridor, a quarter stair ascends to a landing and another stair leads into a suite of rooms at the south front of the house. The south end of the house is shown as raised two feet about the corridor level in a section of the house dated 15 August 1802 (MBii/7/1) but the two feet may only account for the first set of stairs, as these are also shown in an earlier drawing of the first floor dated October 1802 (drawing 22). Soane's revised plan (drawing 35) introduces a second staircase and lobby to the south front rooms. The stairs have apsidal alcoves on both sides. At the west end of the main corridor, the doors have been altered.

In comparison with the earlier design from 1802 (drawing 22), the large room at the south front of the house is shown with a slightly altered plan. The columns at each corner of the room are omitted and a doorway has been blocked up. This room could be what is referred to as the 'ladies' library' in drawings for chimney pieces from 1789 (drawings 6 and 7).

'Moore' refers to Thomas Moore, who was a clerk of works at Cricket Lodge during the second phase of building works, c. 1802-1807. Drawing 35 is apparently a 'copy of one sent to Moore' in July 1804, presumably as a working drawing for building the first floor. As a copy, then, the drawing must have been made after July 1804. The other date inscribed, June 1804, is earlier and is probably the date of the original design drawing.

Level

Group

Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).