Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Surveys of the old house, 13-14 September 1792 (4)



Surveys of the old house, 13-14 September 1792 (4)


Soane sent his pupil Frederick Meyer to make surveys of the Elizabethan manor house in September 1792. The surveys show the house as it stood when Mr Praed commissioned Soane for alterations. The house is a long and low stone building measuring approximately 150 feet in length, with two advanced double gabled wings and a recessed center. An attic is under the main roof. The north end of the ground floor is comprised of offices. A greenhouse is in the centre of the west front. The entrance leads into a large hall, which adjoins south-facing principal rooms and a central stairwell. Above these southern rooms and accessed by the principal staircase are two generous bedroom suites and the nursery apartments. Six more bedrooms are at the building's north end and accessed by a long corridor and another staircase. The attic is accessed by two staircases, containing servants' rooms lit by dormer windows.

The east elevation appears to have been refaced in the 18th century, as its mullion windows have been replaced by sash frames. The original core of the house probably consists of the central hall and north wing, including the large half-turn stair at the north-west. The south wing, with its principal staircase and eating room, is probably a later addition, providing a symmetrical plan. The single-storey dressing room and greenhouse on the west front are also probably later additions.

The old house was described by Richard Cumberland as 'a large venerable mansion on the banks of the Ouse'. The large dining room was decorated with the family arms.



Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).  

Contents of Surveys of the old house, 13-14 September 1792 (4)