Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Record drawing of the stables, 21 September 1828 (1)



Record drawing of the stables, 21 September 1828 (1)


Construction on the stables began in July 1824. The foundations were complete and most of the walls were plinth high on the 11 July (SMA 7/22/36). By August, 'the bricklayers have got all the walls to the stables and coach-houses level to the top of the floors over the stables' and the roof over the coach-houses was being framed (SMA 7/22/21).

The stables employ the 'primitive' aesthetic that Soane often used in utilitarian buildings, having a simple material and limited ornament while following the classical principles of proportion and design (see also du Prey, pp. 254-55). Large areas of unbroken brick walls are relieved by round-headed blind arches with the crowns glazed. The centre of the entrance front has a portico-like enclosure with three double-height round-headed arches.

Purney Sillitoe's coachman, Thomas Buckingham, lived with his wife Emily in the stables, as a 1851 census records (D. Jenkins, p.20).


P.du Prey, John Soane: the making of an architect, 1982, pp. 254-255; D. Jenkins, The History of Pell Wall: its estate and its owners, Pell Wall Preservation Trust, 2003.



Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).  

Contents of Record drawing of the stables, 21 September 1828 (1)