Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Record copies of variant designs for a chapel, 7 July 1786 (2)



Record copies of variant designs for a chapel, 7 July 1786 (2)


The original chapel on the south-side of the old east courtyard was demolished by Soane along with the nearby gatehouse. The Giffards were recusant Catholics and thus there was a particular need for a chapel. As it happened, neither of Soane's variant designs were built. They differ only in the fenestration of the domestic quarters at the east end. The overall plan is cruciform (with a short wing to the east) with the chapel a simple rectangle of 30 feet by 60 feet lit by three Diocletian windows placed west, north and south over doorways.



If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).  

Contents of Record copies of variant designs for a chapel, 7 July 1786 (2)