Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  [22] Copy of a design for the ground floor with alterations by Soane, 23 July 1801


  • image SM 40/2/28

Reference number

SM 40/2/28


[22] Copy of a design for the ground floor with alterations by Soane, 23 July 1801


Plan of the Ground Floor with elevation of the rear of the back shop, elevation of the west wall of the front shop, section through the rear rooms and detail of a lunette window


bar scale of 3/10 inch to 1 foot


as above, Messrs Praeds & Co / Fleet Street, labelled: C (twice), D, Lobby to Shop, Door / to / House / & / Back Shop, E, Seat, Front Shop, B, Recess for / Fire Place / &c, Passage to House / & / Offices &c, A, Arch (7 times), Recess, Qy Window, Qy Pipe, Strong Closet, equal (twice), Qy flue / in / Staircase, Staircase (twice), Square, Back Shop, Lintel (twice), Water Closet / in / the Half Story, Flue, Nothing over this / Room, Leave a toothing, (in Soane's hand) Basemt A small window / with plates of / Iron in mid of / Shutter // B Door three feet wide / with plates of Iron / in middle of the / same & lined with / Iron next the Kitchen // CC Small windows (18 In wide) / with shutters as at A // D Door into Warehouse / 2½ thick in two thick- [cut off] / with plates of Iron in / middle solid pannels / --- flush & lined with / plates of Iron on the / inside / Paved as Brick Drains // Remember Bring in Air / under floor from / D to B / the same Chy ----- / to be continued to the / Kitchen Chy & from thence / to the flue E and dimensions given

Signed and dated

  • 23 July 1801
    Copy Lincolns Inn Fields 23 July 1801 and (in Soane's hand) LIF / Aug 18 1801

Medium and dimensions

Pen, brown pen, sepia and light red washes, pricked for transfer on wove paper with two fold marks (681 x 559)


Henry Hake Seward (1778 - 1848)
Pupil and assistant May 1794 - September 1808.
Sir John Soane (1753 - 1837)


WL 1794


Copy of drawing [20], with alterations by Soane including the addition of a strong closet. A rough elevation of the west wall of the front shop shows three blind arches. Soane's alterations are dated 'Aug 18 1801'.



Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).