Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Thatched House Lodge, Richmond Park, London: for H.M. Woods and Forests, 1798 (2)

Browse

Purpose

Thatched House Lodge, Richmond Park, London: for H.M. Woods and Forests, 1798 (2)

Notes

'Built originally by Sir Robert Walpole c.1727. The core is of white brick, three windows wide, with a canted bay in the middle. The W wing is of 1872'. (I.Nairn and N.Pevsner, Surrey, 1971, pp. 442-3).

The 'house constructed in c. 1727 possibly by William Kent. ... Externally, there have been significant alterations to the house. However, the section of elevation added by Soane, with its orginal brickwork, has survived and can still be recognised on the principal west-facing [or south ?] garden front'. P.Dean, Sir John Soane and London, 2006, p.184.

Grade II listed building, privately owned and the royal residence of Princess Alexandra. (Wikipedia)

Soane was appointed Deputy Surveyor of H.M.Woods and Forests in 1795 (at £200 a year) and hence this commission.

Jill Lever
October 2015

Level

group

Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).