Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  [5] Record copy of a design for the proposed alterations, 1807


  • image SM volume 64/123

Reference number

SM volume 64/123


[5] Record copy of a design for the proposed alterations, 1807


General Plan of Castle Hill with the proposed alterations


bar scale of 1/32 inch to 1 foot, approximately


as above, No 2, The parts teinted red show the intended additions, The Right Honble Lord Fortescue, plan lettered A to Z and corresponding key: A. Eating - Room, B. Library, C. Great Staircase, D. Great Hall, E. Lord's Dressing Room, F. Withdrawing Room, G. Lady's Dressing Room, H. Chamber, I. Lady's Library, K. Gardrobe, L. Lobby, M. Washouse, N. Bakehouse, O. Kitchen, P. Scullery, Q. Housekeeper, R. Store Closet, S. Servant's Hall, T. Butler, U. Meal, V. Wet Larder, W. Pantry, X. Steward's Evidence Room, Y. Steward's Office, Z. Stables, Stables and Slaughter / House and some dimensions given

Signed and dated

  • Octobr 29th 1807

Medium and dimensions

Pen, grey and pink wash, pencil on laid paper (451 x 289)


James Adams jr (1785-1850, pupil 1806-1809)


J Whatman


SM volume 67/52 and SM volume 64/123 show the proposed alterations in pink wash. Alterations include partitions within the existing walls of the west office wing and a small addition on its north front. In the central section of the house, a large eating room is included on the west side and a drawing room adjoins the great hall. A room on the east side, previously an entrance hall (SM volume 67/51), is now a chamber. New chimney-pieces are indicated in the dining room, drawing room, steward's office and east chamber. The dining room has columns in the corners and has been made smaller by the inclusion of an adjacent corridor to the office wing. On the north front of the house, a servants' hall, butler's room, and Lord's dressing room have been added and the exterior has been refaced to make the building look more symmetrical.

SM volume 64/123 is a copy of SM volume 67/52, drawn by a pupil, James Adams jr, years after the original was made. SM volume 67/52 is datable to between 1786 and 1791: the hand is similar to SM 5/3/7 and SM volume 67/51, attributed to John McDonnell who worked in the Soane office until February 1791.


P. Dean, Sir John Soane and the country estate, 1999, pp. 175



Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).