Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Estate plan, dated 1722
  • image SM volume 111/43

Reference number

SM volume 111/43


Estate plan, dated 1722


Plan, with laid-out elevations of buildings, compass, cartouche, scale and inscriptions


1 chain (66 feet) to ½ inch


In pen and brown ink within cartouche, to left, A PLAN OF BRAMTON HOUSE, Castle, Gardens and lands contiguous: Belonging to the Right Hon.ble Robert Earl of Oxford, MDCCXXII; and on parts of the estate with the names Lingen Tack, TEMD FLUV :, THE COW MEADOW, Cow Leasow Bank, Road from Knighton to Bramlow; and within grounds of castle with letters A to f, which relate to the legend at bottom left: A. the lower Garden or Orchard. / B. the Bowling green. / C. the Canal. / D. place behind the house. / E. the Castle. / f. the Kitchen Garden.; and above scale, Scale of Chains

Signed and dated

  • 1722

Medium and dimensions

Pen with brown and grey inks, with green, brown, pink, black and grey washes, with ruled brown ink border; on thick laid paper; 448 x 564.


Unidentified, but possibly connected with James Gibbs


Small fleur-de-lys


Bramton House is known today as Brampton Hall. The castle in the grounds of the house (E on the map) was the Harley family home from 1309. The present Brampton Hall is 'a sizeable Georgian brick house with stone dressings and a hipped roof...The S front is of seven bays with a pedimented three-bay projection' (N. Pevsner, The Buildings of England: Herefordshire, 1963, p. 82). This is presumably a replacement, or an adaptation, of the house shown in this plan, which is six bays wide with an asymmetrically placed door. The river TEMD on the plan is the Tame, which passes through Ludlow.

The drawing is in the hand of an extremely competent draughtsman, and the cartouche is especially well drawn and shaded. It compares with some by Gibbs in his Book of Architecture, 1728 (e.g. p. 132, right), and given the architect's connection with the Harley family, his (partial) involvement in the production of this drawing cannot be ruled out. Gibbs may, in fact, have prepared a design for a new house on this site in 1713 (see 'Unidentified designs/2 Two designs attributed to James Gibbs for a large house with a library wing, 1713, possibly for Brampton House, Herefordshire'; SM volume 111/33 and 26).


Not previously published



Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).