Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Ickworth House, Suffolk, 1803

Browse

  • image SM D3/13/15

Reference number

SM D3/13/15

Purpose

Ickworth House, Suffolk, 1803

Aspect

[1] Survey plan of Basement Story of Ickworth House including the drains

Scale

Scale - 10 feet in One Inch (Dance)

Inscribed

as above, (Dance) All the parts that are white on this plan / to be paved with white Brick or Pavements, rooms and drains labelled (JF, some by Dance) including Strong Closet / or / Plate Room / all fire Proof, Servants Hall, Cellar or / Room for / the Cook, Kitchen / Paved with Stone, Scullery / Paved with / Stone, Butlers / Pantry / Oak floor, House Keepers / Room / oak floor, China / Closet, Servants Hall, Larder / Under Portico, Cellar (three times), Area to be paved with Stone, way to East / wing, Common Sewer / The Bottom at this / Place is Eight Inches / above the Kitchen / Floor, Cesspool, 16 Inch Gun drain, some dimensions given (Dance, pencil) dislocated (of W wall of kitchen) and (verso, reference to plan chest) Small Slider 1 (the shallow cupboard fixed to the top of Dance's drawings cabinet) Signed: JF (twice) Dated: Oct 21 1803

Signed and dated

  • 1803

Medium and dimensions

Pen, light red, raw umber and sepia washes within single ruled border on wove paper folded five times (490 x 460)

Hand

JF

Notes

The survey plan of the kitchen offices with drains, sinks and cesspool shown is drawn and signed by 'JF'. Stroud (p.238) suggests that this is probably J. Fulcher. However, a J. Fulcher appears neither in Colvin nor in B. Haward, Dictionary of architects of Suffolk buildings 1800-1914 (1991). Haward lists a 'J. Fuller of Ipswich?, fl.c.1810' and both sources give Thomas Fulcher (c.1737-1803) whose waterproof composition ('to imitate Portland stone', patent 2707, registered 28 May 1803) was used at Ickworth. Fulcher died in June 1803, four months before the survey drawing was made so it cannot be his. A survey/record drawing of the foundations and drains at Newgate Gaol is signed 'John Fulcher' and dated 'Sepr 12th 1771' ([SM D4/4/13]) and a reference to 'Mr Fulcher, Clerk to Mr Dance' appears in the Committee for rebuilding Newgate Gaol, rough minutes, 20 April 1774 (CLRO, Misc.Mss.235.3, quoted by Kalman, p.380).

A John Field was the architect for the rebuilding of Lord Bristol's town house at 6 St James's Square, 1819-20 for which Dance had prepared alternative unexecuted designs. Field appears in commercial guides from 1817 when he was designated 'carpenter and builder'; later he is described as 'architect' and later still as 'architect and surveyor'. He was at Ickworth in 1827 (Survey of London, XXIX, The Parish of St James Westminster, 1960, p.105 note).

Level

Drawing

Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk