Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  [3] Rough survey of outbuildings, twin-towered gatehouse and house


  • image Image 1 for SM 89/6/3
  • image Image 2 for SM 89/6/3
  • image Image 1 for SM 89/6/3
  • image Image 2 for SM 89/6/3

Reference number

SM 89/6/3


[3] Rough survey of outbuildings, twin-towered gatehouse and house


Plans of outbuildings (verso) plans of Tower House, sections and elevations of windows


Lord Eliot / Down Ampney House, labelled: Cart House (twice), Stable, Barn, Proposed / ---- / ---, Brewhouse, Copper, Oven, Coach House, Stable, Stalls Part -----, Pig Stye (twice), Steps and some dimensions given (verso, of windows) Tower House, Parlor facing brook, Small Chamber / over Parlor, Drawing Room, Chamber over / drawing room, small adjoining drawing

Signed and dated

  • 21/05/1799
    21st May 1799

Medium and dimensions

Brown pen ADD


Attributed to George Mansfield, surveyor 1 May 1797 - December 1800


The section (on verso) shows the four-bay hall with queen post roof trusses. The sketch elevations of twelve windows led to the replacement of some of them by sash windows. The twin-towered gatehouse of 1537 was demolished in 1963 [see drawings [1]verso and [3] verso).



Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).