Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  [108] Design for the iron railings and lower rail covers at Holy Trinity Church, Marylebone, London, 17 March 1827


  • image SM 54/5/11

Reference number

SM 54/5/11


[108] Design for the iron railings and lower rail covers at Holy Trinity Church, Marylebone, London, 17 March 1827


Elevation and section of iron railings. On the left-hand side is an elevation showing three metal posts secured into a tall plinth above a base of granite. A buttress is attached through the railings and protrudes in front of the lower parts of the posts and pedestal. It has been attached to the pedestal by clamps and is secured within the granite base. On the right-hand side is a small elevation showing a wide base of brickwork with a square base of stone upon it, and a small cutting in the centre along the top edge. Beneath there is a section of the buttress metal shaft, shaped with apsidal ends, and there are with some pencil emendations at each ends


full size


B / Granite / Granite / 2’ 3” wide / 1’. 9” high / A / A / a / Section a / 17th March / Copy pf Drawing referred to / in the Agreement Designed by Mr Battan Thursday. / GB.[?] / Brickwork / Stone / Trinity Church St. Marylebone / 16 Cast Iron Brace Bars of this form 2 ½ ‘ by 1 ½” - / to be moulded both edges with the same / Moulding as the Staybars. / A.A. Tapped with Iron Metal Plugs with Rails Screws / B. 32 Cramps with Cakings / No. 8. 1 ½ In Round wrt. Iron Bars across the small [Gates?] to connect the Lamp Irons. / Wheel [_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _] 3 ½ by 12 a [_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _] a Quadrant 3 wide ¾ thick / [_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _] bottom wrt. Iron. / 16 Granite Blocks roughpicked with top to affect surface / back joints and screws cramped to the other stone see B. / 2 Cramps to each stone

Signed and dated

  • 17 March 1827
    Datable to 17 March with a terminus post quem of 1827 due to the watermark on the paper dating to this year

Medium and dimensions

Pencil, pen, wash, coloured washes of brown, olive green and pink, on wove paper (1003 x 690)


Possibly Bailey, George (1792--1860), draughtsman





If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).