Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  [112] Design for the placement of iron railings for Holy Trinity Church, Marylebone, London, 17 June 1826


  • image SM 54/5/7

Reference number

SM 54/5/7


[112] Design for the placement of iron railings for Holy Trinity Church, Marylebone, London, 17 June 1826


Plan as SM 54/5/6 with the exception of: a pencil plan for the drainage pipes is included with the pipes emanating from the sides of the church and running along the outside and looping around the back, where each pipe is terminated behind their corresponding back projection in circular silos (night soil pits). The posts at each end of the pathway are now connected by railings, and not isolated, and the front pathway and carriage drive are divided by a granite curb. To the left-hand side are a couple of pencil sketches for an unknown subject


bar scale of 1 inch to 10 feet


Design for the Iron railing &c. to enclose the Ground. No.2. / Trinity Church. Marylebone. / Carriage Road / Granite Curb 8” by 6” / Footposts. (3” York Paving laid in Courses.) / Portico. / Albany Street / (in pencil) to go 9 feet deep / Cement. / Footpath. / Carriage Road / Granite. Curb. / 3’ York Paving in courses. Average 5ft. width / Design for the Iron railing &c. to enclose the Ground. No.2. / Osnaburgh Street. and some measurements and calculations given

Signed and dated

  • 17 June 1826
    Lincolns Inn Fields / 17. June 1826.

Medium and dimensions

Pencil, pen, coloured washes of green, orange, pink and sand, within a double-rued border, and pricked for transfer on wove paper (738 x 530)


Probably Bailey, George (1792--1860), draughtsman
Soane Office Day Book for Saturday 17 June only records Bailey working on drawings for Marylebone Church, and letter types such as D, G and M correspond with Bailey’s hand




John thinks the unknown sketches may be a coffin lowering device similar to that of SM 54/4/29. If so, the design for the winch was devised two years before the final design for the winch, or it was added to this drawing in 1828.


John, 2003, p. 33, p. 34 fig. 18b



If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).