Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  [57] Design for the principal front of Holy Trinity Church, Marylebone, London, November 1824


  • image SM 54/2/12

Reference number

SM 54/2/12


[57] Design for the principal front of Holy Trinity Church, Marylebone, London, November 1824


Plan of the principal entrance to a church, showing a five- bay entrance with a four-columned porch at the front, a tri-portal entrance behind and the arch-topped windows in the end bays The elevation is as SM 54/2/11 but there is no frieze, the end-bay windows are not transomed, there are no windows at vault level, the doors are only shown in outline, the side pilasters shown in profile are Ionic rather than Corinthian, and the tower has a roundel rather than a clock-face and part of a weather vane


bar scale of 1 inch to 5 feet


Trinity Church, - St. Marylebone. / Design for the West Front. and some pencil lettering

Signed and dated

  • November 1824
    November 1824.

Medium and dimensions

Pencil, pen, wash, coloured washes of brown, olive green, Payne’s grey, red, sepia and stone, and pricked for transfer on wove paper (714 x 512)


Soane Office, draughtsman





If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).