Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  [31] Design for the ground floor of Holy Trinity Church, Marylebone, April 1822


  • image SM 54/1/2

Reference number

SM 54/1/2


[31] Design for the ground floor of Holy Trinity Church, Marylebone, April 1822


Plan of a church of five by nine bays. On the entrance front, the central three bays are recessed behind a colonnade of four paired columns accessed by an external staircase. These are flanked by towers containing internal staircases. The interior is divided into a nave and two side aisles articulated by free standing columns. At the rear is the chancel. Beyond is the rear entrance accessed by external steps and flanked by towers containing internal staircases. Grid lines are added, and some pencil emendations are visible


bar scale of 22/10 inches 10 feet


Sketch of a Design for a church to be erected in the Eastern division of the Parish of St. Marylebone measurements given

Signed and dated

  • April 1822
    22nd April 1822 / 28th April - signed

Medium and dimensions

Pencil, pen and wash, and pricked for transfer on wove paper (862 x 534)


Soane Office, draughtsman



If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).