Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Drawings

Browse

Surveys, alterations and repairs to Wren's Chapel, the north wing of the Light Horse Court and the Octagon porch portico, December 1817 - April 1835 (12)

Since his 1807 appointment, Soane consistently made a variety of repairs, alterations and additions to the existing buildings. Indeed, from 1807 to 1809 when the Infirmary was commissioned, Soane had little to do besides repairs and alterations. Between the years 1807 and 1821 a total of £18,371.3.6 was spent on such repairs. There are, however, only ten drawings in the SM collection that record the repairs and alterations: three for alterations made within the chapel to its furniture, six for internal alterations to the north-east wing of the Light Horse Court and one for repairs made to the main hospital portico. These repairs and alterations are recorded in the Board of Commissioners minutes as well.

Th SM Archive holds one plan of the timbers over the portico (Priv.Corr.IX.J.46).

The Chapel survives intact today - even the pulpit (as divided by Soane) is still in situ. The north-east Light Horse Court wing, however, was partially destroyed in 1918 (by a Zeppelin) and completely destroyed in 1945 by a bomb. It was subsequently rebuilt, in the style of Wren. None of the Soane interiors survive.
Architectural & Other Drawings results view
Select list view result
Select thumbnail view result
Architectural & Other Drawings results view
Select list view result
Select thumbnail view result