Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Drawings

Browse

Stables, October 1814 - July 1818 (25)

Wren’s Stables for Chelsea Hospital were built between 1692 and 1694 and some additions were made in 1698. Soane’s Stables were built between 1814 and 1817, and are around half the size of their predecessor (providing stabling for 36 horses). The conversion of part of Yarborough House into the new Infirmary resulted in the Infirmary itself being hemmed in by surrounding buildings, including the Stable Yard, and thus soon after the Infirmary’s completion Soane constructed new Stables in an alternative location (though still near Wren’s Stables).

Soane’s design for the Stables was for a compact block surrounding a courtyard. As with most of Soane’s Chelsea buildings, yellow stock brick was used and the façade was articulated only by tall blind arcading - conveying an impression of ‘primitive architecture’. The block is one of the most prominent surviving Soane buildings at Chelsea and is now used as office accommodation and workshops.

The SM Archive holds seventeen drawings relating to the Stables - three elevations of chimney stacks with plans, twelve drawings showing various elevations and two drawings showing sections through part of the east side (Priv.Corr.IX.J.4-25).
Architectural & Other Drawings results view
Select list view result
Select thumbnail view result
Architectural & Other Drawings results view
Select list view result
Select thumbnail view result