Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Drawings

Browse

Presentation drawings of the house and bridge, August 1798 (4)

Drawing 158 shows the house at sunset. Two figures are near the entrance front and a flock of sheep is in the foreground. The west side of the building receives the orange glow of the setting sun. The view shows the building as executed. The ground floor is raised, with basement windows aligned with the ground and first floor bays. The west wall of the house has paired pilasters framing the end bays, as opposed to the paired pilasters that mark the ends of the front elevation.

Drawing 159 is a view of the house from the north. The bowed centre of the north front omits a parapet, instead having a full attic range breaking forward. Unlike the other fa├žades, the north front is not articulated by paired pilasters. The ground floor is rusticated and the ground and first floors are separated by panels of incised mouldings. The view shows the office court, as well as the bridge and entrance screen in the background. The entrance screen has a raised pedimented east range. The walls are faced with round-headed windows, omitting architraves but including heavy base mouldings to anchor the walls.

The bridge was designed in 1793 with assistance from John Haverfield (see drawings 33 and 34). It measured 20 feet wide and spanned a river 60 feet wide.
Architectural & Other Drawings results view
Select list view result
Select thumbnail view result
Architectural & Other Drawings results view
Select list view result
Select thumbnail view result