Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Drawings

Browse

Preliminary designs and finished drawings for variant designs for Pinford Bridge, 1767, unexecuted (4)

Pinford bridge, so called owing to its proximity to Pinford Farm, was constructed in 1769-70 at the head of Brown's lake - formed from the River Yeo - allowing a new approach to the castle to be made. Adam's designs of 1767 for the bridge were not used as the mason William Privett's estimate for its erection totalled £1560.12.10, being far too expensive. In 1768 Privett made his own design for the bridge, still with three arches but less ornamental, for which he submitted an estimate of £947.9.4. Then, finally in 1769 Privett made an estimate of £467.0.0 for a bridge design, still inspired by Adam's designs of three arches, but made by Captain Robert Digby, the third Digby brother. This final design was executed in 1769-70 by Privett, and under the superintendence of Captain Digby. Privett's three estimates, as well as Privett and Digby's designs are all preserved in the Sherborne archive, and the two drawings are illustrated in Smith's article. Sadly, the bridge no longer carried the approach to the castle, but rather a farm track.

According to King the trophies seen in Adam volume 51/19 are similar to those on James Adam's Carlton House entrance, and therefore may have been designed by him, though there is no evidence to support this. Bolton notes that Adam volume 51/19 is overly 'florid', and possibly made earlier than the other drawings.
Architectural & Other Drawings results view
Select list view result
Select thumbnail view result
Architectural & Other Drawings results view
Select list view result
Select thumbnail view result