Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Drawings

Designs for the library, 1760, executed with alterations (5)

The library is located in The south-east corner of the principal floor of the central block, between the saloon and the drawing room. The plan does not correspond with the wall elevations as it has been updated to show a broader bookcase on the east wall, and door to the south-east pailion, and matching false door. This corresponds with the drawings for the library in the Kedleston drawings collection, and must date from 1765 when the south-east pavilion - and therefore the need for a door into the south-east quadrant - was abandoned.

The bookcases seen in these drawings are imitations of Linnell's bookcase designed for Lady Scarsdale's dressing room in 1760. The bookcases in the library were executed to the same design by a local craftsman. The swan-neck pediments were removed in 1848, along with the doors with octagonal glazing bars, though happily these doors were later reinstated and remain in situ.
Previous  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 > >>  Next
Architectural & Other Drawings results view
Select list view result
Select thumbnail view result
Previous  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 > >>  Next
Architectural & Other Drawings results view
Select list view result
Select thumbnail view result