Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Rvins of the palace of the Emperor Diocletian at Spalatro in Dalmatia by R. Adam F.R.S. F.S.A. architect to the King and to the Qveen
top left corner
top right corner
bottom left corner
bottom right corner
Image Not Yet Available
ADAM, Robert (1728--1792)
[Ruins of the palace of the Emperor Diocletian at Spalatro in Dalmatia]
Rvins of the palace of the Emperor Diocletian at Spalatro in Dalmatia by R. Adam F.R.S. F.S.A. architect to the King and to the Qveen
[London]:, printed for the avthor,, 1764.
iv, [8], 33, [1] p., engr. frontis., [53] pl. (6 fold.) ; 53.9 cm. (2°)

Includes a list of subscribers. There are 54 engraved plates containing 61 impressions numbered I--LXI (including the frontispiece), of which six are folding and eight double-page; pl. XXXVIII--XXXIX, L--LI, LII--LIII are printed two to a leaf, and pl. LIV--VI and LVII--LIX three to a leaf. Folding plates II, IV, VIII, X, XVIII, XIX are formed of 2 sheets pasted together. The double-page plates are bound as folding plates in some copies. Most (if not all) of the plates are probably after drawings by C.L. Clérisseau. For details of the history and background of the work and the extent of Robert Adam's authorship, see Nicholas Savage's essay in Harris and Savage, British architectural books and writers 1556--1785 (Cambridge 1990), pp. 74--81. There are three copies of the work in Soane's library: two are described here, and the third, having a different setting of the letterpress, is described separately (q.v.). ESTC t46923; Harris and Savage, 4; BAL, Early printed books, no. 27; Millard II, 1.

Copy Notes Purchases of two copies are recorded in the Soane archive: one from Haywood for £2 13s. 0d. on 7 February 1782 (SNB); the other from Taylor for £3 3s. 0d. on 3 October 1803 (Journal 4, p. 431). These cannot be securely identified from the three Soane copies themselves.
Copy 1: Engraved spade-shield armorial bookplate of Joseph Scott Esq. with the arms of Scott of Barr Hall, Great Barr, Staffs., possibly Nash's patron Joseph Scott (1752--1828), 1st Baronet Scott of Barr Hall from 1806. Inscribed in pencil on verso of marbled front-endpaper Collated / £2. 12. 6. The unnumbered left two-thirds of pl. IV is misbound after pl. LIII; pl. XXI is bound to fold; pl. LVII is cut from leaf to fold avoiding the gutter.
Copy 2: 52.2 cm. With the collector's mark of Sir Joshua Reynolds (a subscriber) on the dedication to the King. As Reynolds died in 1792, this is unlikely to be the copy bought by Soane in 1782. With all the plates including the frontispiece bound after the letterpress.

Binding Copy 1: Late 18th-century mottled calf, 'jewel-strap' roll-tool gilt border repeated in spine compartments, red morocco spine label, marbled endpapers.
Copy 2: C18th half diced russia, marbled-paper boards, gilt roll-tooled spine, black morocco spine-label.

Reference Number 3674

Additional Names Josiah Taylor; Reynolds, Sir Joshua (1723--1792); Scott, Joseph (1752--1828); Palace of Diocletian (Split, Croatia); Haywood

If you have any further information about this book,
please contact us:

books@soane.org.uk