Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Poems by C. Churchill. In two volumes. ... The third edition.
  • Image Not Yet Available
CHURCHILL, Charles (1731--1764)
[Poems. 1766]
Poems by C. Churchill. In two volumes. ... The third edition.
London:, printed for John Churchill, (executor to the late C. Churchill) and W. Flexney,, 1766.
2 vols ; 20.4 cm. (8º)
I: [4], 369, [1] p.
II: [4], 330 p.

The first volume of the collected poems of Charles Churchill, who achieved immediate success with his satirical long poem 'The Rosciad' (1761) was first published in 1763, and the second in 1765. With a half-title in each volume and divisional titles prefacing each poem. Volume I contains 'The Rosciad', 'The Apology', 'Night', 'The Prophecy of Famine', 'An Epistle to William Hogarth', and 'The Ghost, In Four Books'. Volume II contains 'The Conference', 'The Author', 'The Duellist', 'Gotham, In Three Books', 'The Candidate', 'The Farewell', 'The Times', 'Independence', and the unfinished 'Fragment Of Journey'. ESTC t98903; NCBEL, 593.

Copy Notes Without the frontispiece portrait noted in the BL copy. Signed in MS. J. Churchill at the end of the text in vol. II; this may have been to reassure readers that no text was missing from 'The Journey'.

Binding C18th marbled calf, gilt double-ruled borders and spines, red and black morocco spine-labels.

Reference Number 1368

If you have any further information about this book,
please contact us: