Explore Collections Explore The Collections
You are here: CollectionsOnline  /  Copy of a design for alterations to the House of Lords by James Wyatt, c.1808
top left corner
top right corner
bottom left corner
bottom right corner
Image Not Yet Available

Reference number

SM 51/1/1

Purpose

Copy of a design for alterations to the House of Lords by James Wyatt, c.1808

Aspect

Plan of the House of Lords and Offices / taken from a Plan in His Majesty's Office of Works

Scale

bar scale of 1/6 inch to 1 foot

Inscribed

as above, labelled (in sans-serif capitals): Coffee Room, Witness' / Waiting / Room, Master / in / Chancery, Chairman / of Committee, Clerk / Assistant, Clerk of the / Journals, Lord / Chancellor's / Office, Lord / Chancellor, Lord / Great Chamberln, Area, The King's / Robing Room, House of Lords, Door Keepers Room, Lobby, Waiting Room / for the Members / of the / House of Commons, Long Gallery, Lobby, The Painted / Chamber, Lobby, Clerk of the / Parliamt Office, Committee Room, The Bishops / Lobby, Archbishops / Robing / Room, Bishops / Robing Room, Bishops Servts / Waiting Room, Fire Lighters / Room, Area, Old House of Lords, Old / Robing Room, (pencil) inside line; (verso, pencil, in the hand of A. T. Bolton, curator 1917-45) Adam Recess / Drawer / Large Plan House of Lords 1819 / I D page 179, 90 / D

Medium and dimensions

Pen, sepia and pink washes, pricked for transfer on wove paper with three fold marks (754 x 1084)

Hand

office of James Wyatt

Watermark

James Whatman Turkey Mill Kent 1819

Notes

This is a copy of a drawing made by the office of James Wyatt, Surveyor-General of the Office of Works 1796-1813, and shows several minor alterations to the House of Lords (in pink wash), most of which relate to the resizing of entrances. The main works, however, are centred around a new staircase to the south of the Painted Chamber. This has two flights of nine stairs with a ceiling with three groin vaults and was designed as part of a project for a new Gothic Royal Entrance. To the west of the House of Lords are the offices added to the building by Wyatt between 1800 and 1812. To the south of the Old House of Lords is the Old Robing Room, formerly the Prince's Chamber.

Level

Drawing

Digitisation of the Drawings Collection has been made possible through the generosity of the Leon Levy Foundation

If you have any further information about this object, please contact us: drawings@soane.org.uk

Sir John Soane's collection includes some 30,000 architectural, design and topographical drawings which is a very important resource for scholars worldwide. His was the first architect’s collection to attempt to preserve the best in design for the architectural profession in the future, and it did so by assembling as exemplars surviving drawings by great Renaissance masters and by the leading architects in Britain in the 17th and 18th centuries and his near contemporaries such as Sir William Chambers, Robert Adam and George Dance the Younger. These drawings sit side by side with 9,000 drawings in Soane’s own hand or those of the pupils in his office, covering his early work as a student, his time in Italy and the drawings produced in the course of his architectural practice from 1780 until the 1830s.

Browse (via the vertical menu to the left) and search results for Drawings include a mixture of Concise catalogue records – drawn from an outline list of the collection – and fuller records where drawings have been catalogued in more detail (an ongoing process).